Databases

Covering 1816-1922, newspapers, magazines, reports and annuals documenting African American religious life and culture.

Full-text of alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and newsletters, beginning 1995. Updated monthly.

Chronicles the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. It includes almost 1400 publications.
Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views.

Online version of the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Full-text of American newspapers and magazines from the ethnic, minority and Native press. Available in both English and Spanish.

Financial Times (FT) is an international daily newspaper. It covers many topics including management, finance, the legal industry, politics, climate change and more. Newsletters and apps are included.

Users can sign up for their complimentary membership by visiting https://ft.com/hunter

- Click on “Get Started.”
- Create an account using your Hunter email address and follow the prompts.
- Your Hunter username and password can be used for remote access and to access FT apps.

Some “how to” videos from FT:

How to search for content on FT.com
How to share articles and create reading lists
How to write a top-notch CV
How to succeed at interviews

Provides access to more than 3,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Alternate access via CUNY login credentials

Full-text periodical articles that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas.

The Illustrated London News 1842-2003.

Full text database of newspapers and other news sources; legal information including U.S. Code, state laws and reviews; business news and company financial information; medical abstracts, biographical information and country and state profiles.

Index with full text of the most important and scholarly LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as more than 150 books.

The New York Times with indexing and full text, 1985 to the present.

Full text of the New York Times from June 1, 1980 to present.

If you are looking for nytimes.com access, that information can be found here: http://library.hunter.cuny.edu/news/new-york-times-online-access

The historical New York Times from Proquest has digitally reproduced every page from every issue of The New York Times from 1851 to 2001. The full text of the paper is completely searchable due to underlying ASCII text. The results include all graphics and links to continuations on other pages.

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Current: Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, Gender Watch, National Newspaper Core.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune, LA Times, NY Amsterdam News, NY Times, Washington Post.

Full text coverage for regional business publications, updated daily.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. (Gale Primary Sources)

The Sunday Times, 1822-2006.

The Times of London from 1785 to 2014.

Full text of the New York Times 1980 to current; Wall Street Journal 1984 to current; Wall Street Journal Online 2010 to current; Los Angeles Times 1985 to current; Washington Post 1987 to current.

Full text of the Wall Street Journal from Jan. 2, 1984 to present.

* If you are looking for wsj.com access, that information can be found here: https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/news/cuny-sponsored-access-wall-street-j...

Washington Post 1877-2000.